I'm setting up a 10.4.2 Server to replace my 10.3.9 Server. Both
are running mail services. I've sent a test message to the
10.4.2 mail server from Eudora running on my 10.3.9 client via the
10.3.9 mail server and I receive a rejection from postfix on the
10.3.9 server with the following message:
host 69.208.98.85[69.208.98.85] said: 501 Bad address
syntax (in reply to RCPT TO command)
The .85 address is the new 10.4.2 mail server.
I've verified that the account I'm
sending to is enabled for mail. I'm sending the message to
accountname@IPaddress. I've configured the 10.4.2 server using
all the same settings as my 10.3.9 server, which has been working for
years. FWIW, the 10.4.2 server is set up as a stand-alone server
and sits outside my firewall with a real IP address. Any help
would be appreciated.
Hi All,
Here is a little more information. I've now made a DNS
entry for the server, mail2.wordmaster.com. I also verified that
the hostname of the new (Tiger) server is mail2.wordmaster.com.
Now, when I send a message from email@hidden to
email@hidden, the message doesn't get rejected any
more, but here is the entry made in the SMTP log of the receiving
(Tiger) server when the message comes in:
Aug 28 21:36:23
mail2 postfix/smtpd[6824]: connect from
adsl-69-208-98-83.dsl.chcgil.ameritech.net[69.208.98.83]
Aug 28 21:36:23 mail2 postfix/smtpd[6824]: warning: unknown smtpd
restriction: "bl.spamcop.net"
Aug 28 21:36:23 mail2 postfix/smtpd[6824]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from
adsl-69-208-98-83.dsl.chcgil.ameritech.net[69.208.98.83]: 451 Server
configuration error; from=<email@hidden>
to=<email@hidden>
proto=ESMTP helo=<wordmaster.com>
Aug 28 21:36:23 mail2 postfix/cleanup[6825]: 366AB35A0F:
message-id=<email@hidden>
Aug 28 21:36:23 mail2 postfix/qmgr[6791]: 366AB35A0F:
from=<email@hidden>, size=981, nrcpt=1
(queue active)
Aug 28 21:36:23 mail2 postfix/smtpd[6824]: disconnect from
adsl-69-208-98-83.dsl.chcgil.ameritech.net[69.208.98.83]
Aug 28 21:36:23 mail2 postfix/local[6826]: 366AB35A0F:
to=<email@hidden>, orig_to=<postmaster>,
relay=local, delay=0, status=sent (delivered to file: /dev/null)
Aug 28 21:36:23 mail2 postfix/qmgr[6791]: 366AB35A0F:
removed
I don't know where the bl.spamcop.net thing comes from. I
don't have it listed in my junk mail rejection servers and in any case
I tried it with the "Use these junk mail rejection servers"
checkbox checked and unchecked and I get the same entry in the SMTP
log.
--
Regards,
David Ferri, President
Word Master, Inc.
320 Earls Ct.
Deerfield, IL 60015
Ph: 847-948-9600 Fax: 847-948-9617
http://www.wordmaster.com
_______________________________________________
Do not post admin requests to the list. They will be ignored.
Macos-x-server mailing list (email@hidden)
Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
http://lists.apple.com/mailman/options/macos-x-server/email@hidden
This email sent to email@hidden