On Thu, 28 Apr 2005 09:37:05 -0300
"Dr. Rolf Jansen" <email@hidden> wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I set up a Mac OS X Server 10.3.9 in Brazil and its mail service is
> running now perfectly, except that for any reason a major online
> service based in US blocks our static IP address. Their postmaster web
> site is merely a fake site, there postmaster help desk phone number is
> dead, the postmaster e-mail address produces only automated response
> messages. So I gave up, since there seems to be no way to let them
> unblock our IP.
Have you tried Jarud Munch's NOC list ?
http://puck.nether.net/netops/nocs.cgi
If that doesn't work, I would
- join the NANOG list with posting privileges (note that that requires 2 joins)
http://www.nanog.org/email.html
- send a copy of the above detailing the steps you have taken and
requesting that someone from that ISP contact you off list, or that if anyone knows a live contact
at that site that they send it to you off list.
It is appropriate on the NANOG list to mention the offender by name,
as long as you do not attack or insult them. (Not that some don't do that too,
but you do want people to help you.)
I would be surprised if these steps do not get you some results
by the end of the day Friday.
Of course, it is possible that they have reasons to block you (maybe there
is an open mail relay on your LAN ?), and there may be
further steps before this is fully resolved.
Regards
Marshall Eubanks
>
> My idea is now, to relay mail to their members by our SMTP server in
> Germany, which is not blocked by them. However, I do not want to relay
> all mail from Brazil by the German server, since this involves too much
> unnecessary long distance traffic.
>
> I know, how to change the Postfix configuration files to relay all mail
> by another SMTP host. But, how do I relay only for certain destinations
> by another SMTP host? Is this feasible at all?
>
> Many thanks for your help in advance.
>
> Rolf Jansen
>
>
> PS:
>
> A major online service based in Germany was also blocking our IP in
> Brazil. I sent them a kind notice to there postmaster address, and they
> responded personally and kindly, and they removed our IP from their
> block list within 12 h after my message without any further discussion.
> I consider this a professional and responsible way of dealing with
> problems, compared to the totally unprofessional and irresponsible
> attitude of this other online service.
>
> _______________________________________________
> Do not post admin requests to the list. They will be ignored.
> Macos-x-server mailing list (email@hidden)
> Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
> http://lists.apple.com/mailman/options/macos-x-server/email@hidden
>
> This email sent to email@hidden
_______________________________________________
Do not post admin requests to the list. They will be ignored.
Macos-x-server mailing list (email@hidden)
Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
http://lists.apple.com/mailman/options/macos-x-server/email@hidden
This email sent to email@hidden