Re: Outlets not allocated
Re: Outlets not allocated
- Subject: Re: Outlets not allocated
- From: Kevin Cathey <email@hidden>
- Date: Wed, 10 Jun 2009 22:37:25 -0700
I know I could set the string in objects and on awakeFromNib set
the text fields, but it just seems inefficien
We encourage you to use the controller's controller specific methods
for knowing when you content is loaded:
NSWindowController -- windowDidLoad
UIViewController -- viewDidLoad
Since the behavior of awakeFromNib differs between iPhone OS and Mac
OS X, using windowDidLoad or viewDidLoad will ensure you only receive
that message once: when the window or view is loaded.
Kevin
--------------------------
Kevin Cathey
On 10 Jun 2009, at 09:56, Micha Fuhrmann wrote:
Rajendran,
Many thanks for your answer. You are right. Now there's something I
don't understand in terms of sequence, at least it doesn't make
sense to me. I instantiate the Object, why shouldn't I be able to
send messages to contained objects? How am I suppose to deal with
the sequence? I mean, I instantiate an object but the I can't
dispose from it after. How do you deal with that kind issue? I know
I could set the string in objects and on awakeFromNib set the text
fields, but it just seems inefficient. Any tricks?
Michael
On 10 juin 09, at 18:30, email@hidden wrote:
Hi,
oulets are not allocated on initiate . Its guaranteed to be
allocated only on awakeFromNib . Any message to outlet should be
sent from awakeFromNib and not from init method.
Regards
Rajendran P
-----Original Message-----
From: cocoa-dev-bounces+rajendran_pichaimurthy=email@hidden
[mailto:cocoa-dev-bounces
+rajendran_pichaimurthy=email@hidden] On Behalf Of
Micha Fuhrmann
Sent: Wednesday, June 10, 2009 9:40 PM
To: Cocoa List
Subject: Outlets not allocated
Hi there,
It's been hours and really I don't get it. I've got a custom
NSWindowController class. I'm loading it with a Nib. That Nib
contains a window and text fields in it all linked through outlets
to my NSWindowController class. When I allocate and initiate the
window appears fine, but when I send a message to fill in the text
fields nothing happens. If I set a breakpoint I can see that none
of my outlets are allocated (0x0 under the value column). Why
aren't they allocated and initiated when the Nib is loaded?
Any help greatly appreciated.
_______________________________________________
Cocoa-dev mailing list (email@hidden)
Please do not post admin requests or moderator comments to the list.
Contact the moderators at cocoa-dev-admins(at)lists.apple.com
Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
This email sent to email@hidden
_______________________________________________
Cocoa-dev mailing list (email@hidden)
Please do not post admin requests or moderator comments to the list.
Contact the moderators at cocoa-dev-admins(at)lists.apple.com
Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
This email sent to email@hidden
_______________________________________________
Cocoa-dev mailing list (email@hidden)
Please do not post admin requests or moderator comments to the list.
Contact the moderators at cocoa-dev-admins(at)lists.apple.com
Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
This email sent to email@hidden