Send Xcode-users mailing list submissions to
email@hidden
To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
http://lists.apple.com/mailman/listinfo/xcode-users
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
email@hidden
You can reach the person managing the list at
email@hidden
When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Xcode-users digest..."
Today's Topics:
1. Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode legacy
project ? (Paul Russell)
2. Where to find list of Xcode-specific environment variables ?
(Paul Russell)
3. Re: Where to find list of Xcode-specific environment
variables ? (Chris Espinosa)
4. build variants broken? (Mike Laster)
5. Re: XCode debugger locking up (Chris Friesen)
6. Re: Where to find list of Xcode-specific environment
variables ? (Paul Russell)
7. Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode legacy
project ? (Scott Tooker)
8. Re: XCode debugger locking up (Chris Friesen)
9. Re: Help with Java, Xcode, CodeSense, java docs, WebObjects,
etc. (LD)
10. Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode legacy
project ? (Paul Russell)
11. Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode
legacy project ? (Scott Tooker)
12. Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode
legacy project ? (Paul Russell)
13. Re: How do I get Xcode to Index a Framework in my Project?
(Bryan Pietrzak)
14. limits.h (Steve Mills)
15. Re: limits.h (D.Walsh)
16. Re: limits.h (Markian Hlynka)
17. Re: limits.h (Steve Mills)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Message: 1
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 20:22:37 +0000
From: Paul Russell <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode legacy
project ?
To: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
On 2 Mar 2005, at 19:45, Markian Hlynka wrote:
Next question: how do I associate a custom executable with a target ?
I have a 1:1 correspondence between executables and targets but when
I change target I have to manually change executable to match too,
otherwise I end up debugging the wrong executable.
I think...
Make your target active, then go to the executables group, click on
it, and you should get a radio-buttoned list of which executable this
target builds. Alternatively, bring up the inspector for you target,
click on the BUILD tab, and Change the "Product Name" setting. This
should then be reflected under the General tab on the third line
(Name, then type, then product).
It would be nice if this worked but the target selection and the
executable selection seem to be completely decoupled. I can see why
this might be useful for some types of projects, so for now I guess I
just have to train myself to always change both popups whenever I
switch target,
Regards,
Paul
------------------------------
Message: 2
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 20:25:44 +0000
From: Paul Russell <email@hidden>
Subject: Where to find list of Xcode-specific environment variables ?
To: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
In order to make some paths relative rather than absolute (e.g. paths
to custom executables) I'd like to use an appropriate environment
variable. I'm guessing there must be something like PROJECT_DIR or
PROJECT_PATH which I could use to define paths relative to the Xcode
project itself, but I can't find these documented anywhere ?
Paul
------------------------------
Message: 3
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 12:45:37 -0800
From: Chris Espinosa <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: Where to find list of Xcode-specific environment
variables ?
To: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
On Mar 2, 2005, at 12:25 PM, Paul Russell wrote:
In order to make some paths relative rather than absolute (e.g. paths
to custom executables) I'd like to use an appropriate environment
variable. I'm guessing there must be something like PROJECT_DIR or
PROJECT_PATH which I could use to define paths relative to the Xcode
project itself, but I can't find these documented anywhere ?
Xcode, Help menu, Show Build Settings Notes
It's a bug that this file is not indexed by the documentation browser.
Chris
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: smime.p7s
Type: application/pkcs7-signature
Size: 2355 bytes
Desc: not available
Url :
http://lists.apple.com/mailman/private/xcode-users/attachments/
20050302/b261753b/smime.bin
------------------------------
Message: 4
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 15:57:39 -0500
From: Mike Laster <email@hidden>
Subject: build variants broken?
To: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
It looks like the VARIANT_SUFFIX_$(variant) build setting is broken in
XCode 1.5
I have a build style with the following overrides:
BUILD_VARIANTS = debug
VARIANT_SUFFIX_debug = NOTUSED
The variant causes the object files to correctly be put in the
Objects-debug folder.
The problem is that the framework links with a _debug suffix.
From what I understand of the documentation, it should be creating
Framework_NOTUSED with the
above settings.
It seems that the link phase is hard-coded to always use _variantName
as the variant suffix no
matter what.
What I really want is no variant suffix at all so that debug build
styles will used Objects-debug and
non-debug build styles will use Objects-normal, but the final binary
will be the same name regardless.
------------------------------
Message: 5
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 13:05:43 -0800
From: Chris Friesen <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: XCode debugger locking up
To: Monroe Williams <email@hidden>
Cc: email@hidden
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
You can adjust the timeout using the user default
'PBXGDBDataValueSequenceTimeout'. If you set it to zero then Xcode will
wait until gdb completes the operation it was given. As has been
mentioned, a really busy system, low on memory and swapping, can cause
the timeout to occur or if you have a lot of static variables gdb can
take a long time returning the results. This is much improved in the
next version of Xcode.
To set the timeout do the following in Terminal:
defaults write com.apple.Xcode PBXGDBDataValueSequenceTimeout
0
Hope this helps,
ChrisF
On Mar 1, 2005, at 4:02 PM, Monroe Williams wrote:
Sometimes (usually just when I'm about to find whatever problem I'm
looking for), when stopping at a breakpoint, stepping, moving around
in the stack frame, or doing some other debugger operation that would
cause the display to update, XCode hangs with a spinning rainbow
cursor. During the hang, XCode uses 100% CPU for an inordinate
amount of time (the most recent case was around 8 minutes).
Just before XCode hangs, the status display in the debug window
changes to:
"Timed out fetching variable data. Variable display may be
inaccurate."
and eventually (after several minutes) changes to:
------------------------------
Message: 6
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 21:09:36 +0000
From: Paul Russell <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: Where to find list of Xcode-specific environment
variables ?
To: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
On 2 Mar 2005, at 20:45, Chris Espinosa wrote:
Xcode, Help menu, Show Build Settings Notes
It's a bug that this file is not indexed by the documentation browser.
Cool - thanks - I hadn't noticed that menu item - lots of useful info
in there...
Paul
------------------------------
Message: 7
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 13:17:15 -0800
From: Scott Tooker <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode legacy
project ?
To: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
On Mar 2, 2005, at 11:36 AM, Paul Russell wrote:
On 2 Mar 2005, at 18:23, Scott Tooker wrote:
Yes, that is correct. Just add build settings and they will get
passed via the environment to the external tool you are using to
build with.
Thanks, yes, I eventually found that dialog. Unfortunately it looks
like I have to have one target per combination of Makefile parameters
(rather than just having one target and using bulld styles) but it's
better than nothing.
You should be able to add custom build settings in the build style that
match the build settings you are passing down to the external tool,
which would override the target settings. There's really no need to
create a bunch of custom executables.
Any idea how I associate a custom executable with its legacy target ?
Currently there is no way to associate a custom executable with a
target.
Scott
Regards,
Paul
------------------------------
Message: 8
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 13:18:33 -0800
From: Chris Friesen <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: XCode debugger locking up
To: Nick Nallick <email@hidden>
Cc: email@hidden
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
On Mar 2, 2005, at 10:44 AM, Nick Nallick wrote:
I've been trying to use the 1.5 debugger on 10.3.8 to learn the code
by setting break points, crawling the stack and stepping through the
code. This has been extremely painful. I've been having similar
problems to those detailed above almost constantly. The only real
difference is that mine only spends a minute or two with the spinning
cursor, but when it comes back about the only thing I can do is
terminate the app I'm debugging. For me the debugger is virtually
useless.
Try setting the timeout to zero as I mentioned in my other reply to
this thread. If that still doesn't work for you turn on Xcode-GDB
logging and include it in the bug report.
Do the following in terminal then run Xcode and attach the log:
defaults write com.apple.Xcode PBXGDBDebuggerLogFileName
/tmp/XCGDBLog
defaults write com.apple.Xcode PBXGDBDebuggerLogToFile YES
Perhaps the problem is related to the lack of available memory. I'm
running a PM 2.5 DP with 1GB RAM. I was down to about 1.35 GB free
on my boot partition. After getting my free disk space up to about 4
GB the problem has lessened somewhat but not very much. Now I can
single step three or four lines after a breakpoint before freezing.
Disk space is only an issue if you don't have enough memory to load all
of the debugging symbols and the system starts paging memory to disk.
How much memory do you have and how big is the debug version of your
application? When you debug does your system run out of physical
memory? You can use the command line tool 'top' or
'/Developer/Applications/Performance\ Tools/BigTop.app' to monitor
memory usage.
Does anyone have suggestions about the system memory requirements for
debugging large projects?
Enough memory to load all of your debugging symbols is nice....
Cheers,
ChrisF
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL:
http://lists.apple.com/mailman/private/xcode-users/attachments/
20050302/78472f75/attachment.html
------------------------------
Message: 9
Date: Thu, 3 Mar 2005 08:21:35 +1100
From: LD <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: Help with Java, Xcode, CodeSense, java docs, WebObjects,
etc.
To: Scott Tooker <email@hidden>
Cc: email@hidden
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
Hi again all,
no response yet :-( Help would be much appreciated...
I'm trying to get the Documentation all installed in the right places
(though it seems that there's still a confusion in the supplied scripts
between /Developer/ADC Reference Library and /Developer/Documentation).
In any case, problems are arising.
Specifically, I can't get the Class Browser to display standard java
1.4.2 classes from Sun. CodeSense won't do anything with them either.
e.g., in a Java Tool project, if I type 'String s = "some string";' and
then type 's.' then the choices given have no relation to the available
methods of type String. Nor do they appear in a WebObjects application
project (for either the Class Browser or indeed CodeSense)
I've done the following in setting up the development machine from
scratch. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Step 1:
- Install Mac OS X 10.3
- Install Xcode Developer tools CD
- 5.2 Developer CD
Step 2:
- 10.3.8 Combined Update
- Xcode 1.1 Update
- 2004 Security Updates
Step 3:
- Java 1.4.2 Update 1
- Java 1.4.2 Update 1 (Developer) [from ADC]
# Note: installing Java 1.4.2 Update 2 prior to this (as Software
Update wants to do) will break things.
- WebObjects 5.2.2 Developer Update
Step 4:
- Java 1.4.2 Update 2
- WebObjects 5.2.3 Developer Update
- 2005 security Update
Step 5:
- Xcode Tools 1.5 CD Image
- Follow Release Notes Fixes for WebObjects
Step 6:
- sudo /Developer/ADC Reference
Library/Java/scripts/unjarJavaDocumentation.sh
- cd "/Developer/Extras/Xcode Index Templates" && ./install_templates
I'm still having no luck - what have I missed?
Thanks.
with regards,
--
Lachlan Deck
------------------------------
Message: 10
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 21:26:00 +0000
From: Paul Russell <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode legacy
project ?
To: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
On 2 Mar 2005, at 21:17, Scott Tooker wrote:
You should be able to add custom build settings in the build style
that match the build settings you are passing down to the external
tool, which would override the target settings. There's really no need
to create a bunch of custom executables.
Thanks - I had hoped that something like that might be possible but I
can't quite see how to define custom build settings yet - I'm sure that
must be in the online docs somewhere so I'll keep digging until I find
it.
Regards,
Paul
------------------------------
Message: 11
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 13:32:22 -0800
From: Scott Tooker <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode
legacy project ?
To: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
On Mar 2, 2005, at 1:26 PM, Paul Russell wrote:
On 2 Mar 2005, at 21:17, Scott Tooker wrote:
You should be able to add custom build settings in the build style
that match the build settings you are passing down to the external
tool, which would override the target settings. There's really no
need to create a bunch of custom executables.
Thanks - I had hoped that something like that might be possible but I
can't quite see how to define custom build settings yet - I'm sure
that must be in the online docs somewhere so I'll keep digging until
I find it.
Just go to the project inspector and bring up the Styles tab. From
there click on the '+' button to add a custom build setting.
There are known focus issues with adding custom build settings (the
table loses focus after entering the new build setting name and tabbing
to the next field) that should be fixed in the next release of Xcode.
Scott
Regards,
Paul
_______________________________________________
Do not post admin requests to the list. They will be ignored.
Xcode-users mailing list (email@hidden)
Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
This email sent to email@hidden
------------------------------
Message: 12
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 21:39:30 +0000
From: Paul Russell <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: How to pass additional parameters to make in Xcode
legacy project ?
To: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
On 2 Mar 2005, at 21:32, Scott Tooker wrote:
Just go to the project inspector and bring up the Styles tab. From
there click on the '+' button to add a custom build setting.
There are known focus issues with adding custom build settings (the
table loses focus after entering the new build setting name and
tabbing to the next field) that should be fixed in the next release of
Xcode.
Got it - thanks - this is all starting to come together quite nicely
now.
Regards,
Paul
------------------------------
Message: 13
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 16:17:07 -0600
From: Bryan Pietrzak <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: How do I get Xcode to Index a Framework in my Project?
To: Rob Frohne <email@hidden>
Cc: XCode Users <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
On Mar 2, 2005, at 11:07 AM, Rob Frohne wrote:
I can't seem to get Xcode to find things in the CoreAudio Framework
which is in my project. I want to be able to command click a function
call and find the header. It seems to work with everything else in
the project, including some gnome things, but not with the CoreAudio
framework. Any hints?
My hint: try searching at Apple's developer site. I'm guessing, based
on your problem description what the problem is.
The FIRST hit for a search (using the little search box in the upper
corner of every page) on "Core Audio Xcode" yields:
http://developer.apple.com/qa/qa2004/qa1386.html
Bryan
------------------------------
Message: 14
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 16:21:04 -0600
From: Steve Mills <email@hidden>
Subject: limits.h
To: email@hidden
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
This probably isn't the best list to ask this question in, but I don't
want to join yet another one just for one question.
I was running into problems compiling a 3rd party CodeWarrior project
that we use. The problem was that it couldn't find __CHAR_BIT__.
Another engineer says it's coming from
/usr/include/gcc/darwin/3.3/machine/limits.h. I looked at my version of
that file and the only reference to __CHAR_BIT__ was:
#define CHAR_BIT __CHAR_BIT__
His version of it has this above that:
#ifndef __CHAR_BIT__
#define __CHAR_BIT__ 8
#endif
Can anyone tell me why our files might be different when they're both
in the 3.3 directory? Was there an update that was a small change in
3.3 that didn't actually change the version number (like to 3.4)?
Steve Mills
Drummer, Mac geek
http://sjmills5.home.mchsi.com/
------------------------------
Message: 15
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 17:46:07 -0500
From: "D.Walsh" <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: limits.h
To: xcode-users list <email@hidden>
Cc: Steve Mills <email@hidden>
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
On Mar 02, 2005, at 17:21, Steve Mills wrote:
This probably isn't the best list to ask this question in, but I don't
want to join yet another one just for one question.
I was running into problems compiling a 3rd party CodeWarrior project
that we use. The problem was that it couldn't find __CHAR_BIT__.
Another engineer says it's coming from
/usr/include/gcc/darwin/3.3/machine/limits.h. I looked at my version
of that file and the only reference to __CHAR_BIT__ was:
#define CHAR_BIT __CHAR_BIT__
His version of it has this above that:
#ifndef __CHAR_BIT__
#define __CHAR_BIT__ 8
#endif
Can anyone tell me why our files might be different when they're both
in the 3.3 directory? Was there an update that was a small change in
3.3 that didn't actually change the version number (like to 3.4)?
try looking at:
/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.3.0.sdk/usr/include/machine/limits.h
Steve Mills
-- Dale
------------------------------
Message: 16
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 15:54:19 -0700
From: Markian Hlynka <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: limits.h
To: Steve Mills <email@hidden>
Cc: email@hidden
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; delsp=yes; format=flowed
yah. take a look at the top of your types.h file. you'll probably find:
#include <machine/limits.h>
#include <sys/syslimits.h>
machine/limits.h includes ppc/limits.h which defines CHAR_BIT 8
This isn't much help since machine/limits.h then overrides it.... so
now I'm confused too!
The file machine/limits.h is just a link to
/usr/include/gcc/darwin/3.3/machine/limits.h
Odd...
On Mar 2, 2005, at 15:21, Steve Mills wrote:
This probably isn't the best list to ask this question in, but I don't
want to join yet another one just for one question.
I was running into problems compiling a 3rd party CodeWarrior project
that we use. The problem was that it couldn't find __CHAR_BIT__.
Another engineer says it's coming from
/usr/include/gcc/darwin/3.3/machine/limits.h. I looked at my version
of that file and the only reference to __CHAR_BIT__ was:
#define CHAR_BIT __CHAR_BIT__
His version of it has this above that:
#ifndef __CHAR_BIT__
#define __CHAR_BIT__ 8
#endif
Can anyone tell me why our files might be different when they're both
in the 3.3 directory? Was there an update that was a small change in
3.3 that didn't actually change the version number (like to 3.4)?
Steve Mills
Drummer, Mac geek
http://sjmills5.home.mchsi.com/
_______________________________________________
Do not post admin requests to the list. They will be ignored.
Xcode-users mailing list (email@hidden)
Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
email@hidden
This email sent to email@hidden
------------------------------
Message: 17
Date: Wed, 2 Mar 2005 16:58:34 -0600
From: Steve Mills <email@hidden>
Subject: Re: limits.h
To: email@hidden
Message-ID: <email@hidden>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII; format=flowed
On Mar 2, 2005, at 16:46, D.Walsh wrote:
try looking at:
/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.3.0.sdk/usr/include/machine/limits.h
I don't have the SDKs directory installed. If I remember correctly,
those are optional packages in the dev tools installer. Care to tell me
what it says?
Steve Mills
Drummer, Mac geek
http://sjmills5.home.mchsi.com/
------------------------------
_______________________________________________
Xcode-users mailing list
email@hidden
http://lists.apple.com/mailman/listinfo/xcode-users
End of Xcode-users Digest, Vol 2, Issue 72
******************************************